At the CMT Music Awards, the venerable band Lynyrd Skynyrd will receive a star-studded homage.

Following Gary Rossington’s passing in March, the award show revealed on Thursday that Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Slash, and Warren Haynes would pay tribute to the band and its founding member.

As The Honkettes, LeAnn Rimes and Wynonna Judd will also participate in the homage.

Along with Rickey Medlock and Johnny Van Zant, members of the Lynyrd Skynyrd band, Dale Krantz Rossington is scheduled to join the musical celebration.

The band’s final living founding member was Rossington. The band posted a statement on their Facebook page on March 5 informing fans of his passing.

The band announced that Gary Rossington, a sibling, friend, family member, songwriter, and guitarist, passed away today with the utmost sympathy and sadness.

The group continued, “Gary is now in heaven with his Skynyrd siblings and family and playing it pretty, like he always does. Please respect the family’s need for privacy at this trying time by keeping Dale, Mary, Annie, and the complete Rossington family in your prayers.

Although Rossington had previously dealt with a number of heart issues over the years, including an urgent heart surgery in 2021, no cause of death was provided.

Powerhouses like Alanis Morissette, Gwen Stefani, and Shania Twain will also appear at the award show on Sunday at the Moody Center.

The singer of “You Oughta Know” from Jagged Little Pill will perform at the CMT Music Awards for the first time with Ingrid Andress, Lainey Wilson, Madeline Edwards, and Morgan Wade to commemorate the 10-year milestone of the CMT Next Women of Country franchise. Stefani will perform with Carly Pearce to celebrate her premiere as well.

At the awards ceremony, Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown (along with his wife Katelyn) will serve as co-hosts for CMT. Blake Shelton, Cody Johnson, and Keith Urban are some additional acts. On the Ram Trucks Side Stage at the awards ceremony, up-and-coming country artists like Megan Moroney, Jackson Dean, Nate Smith, Lily Rose, Avery Anna, and Chapel Hart will perform.

On Sunday, April 2, at 8 p.m. ET, the 2023 CMT Music Awards will be broadcast live on CBS. It will also be streamed live and on demand on Paramount+.


Download The Radiant App To Start Watching!

Web: Watch Now

LGTV™: Download

ROKU™: Download

XBox™: Download

Samsung TV™: Download

Amazon Fire TV™: Download

Android TV™: Download