The world tour and 72 Seasons, Metallica’s first album in six years, have been announced.

The heavy metal legends shocked their fans this week by releasing “Lux terna,” the debut single off their album following 2016’s “Hardwired… to Self-Destruct,” as well as a visually arresting music video.

The title of the album indicates the importance of the first 18 years of existence.

James Hetfield, a frontman, explained: “72 seasons, to be precise. Our actual or false selves are formed over the first 18 years of life.

“The idea that our parents told us “who we are.” Possibly putting us within one of several personality categories.”

He continued: “The ongoing investigation of these fundamental ideas and how they impact how we view the world now strikes me as the most fascinating aspect of this. Reactions to or reenactments of these early memories make up a large portion of our adult experience. either escaping our personal bonds or becoming prisoners of our early years.”

The CD will be made available on April 14, 2023.

The ‘Enter Sandman’ rockers will then set out on a massive tour in support of the album, doing two gigs with various set lists in each location.

The tour, which runs from 2023 to 2024, is scheduled to begin on April 27, 2023, in Amsterdam.

Architects, Mammoth WVH, Five Finger Death Punch, Ice Nine Kills, Pantera, Volbeat, and Greta Van Fleet are just a few of the support acts for the many shows.

On Friday, general sales tickets will start at 9 a.m. local time (02.12.22).

The track-listing for ’72 Seasons’ is:

1. ’72 Seasons’

2. ‘Shadows Follow’

3. ‘Screaming Suicide’

4. ‘Sleepwalk My Life Away’

5. ‘You Must Burn!’

6. ‘Lux Æterna’

7. ‘Crown of Barbed Wire’

8. ‘Chasing Light’

9. ‘If Darkness Had a Son’

10. ‘Too Far Gone?’

11. ‘Room of Mirrors’

12. ‘Inamorata’